Citizen of the Year ‘honored’ for putting his passion for the community to work

Marci Csumrik surprised to learn recognition; “I am honored to be able to serve youth and the arts and other volunteer positions that I maintain”

Orillia’s 2021 Citizen of the Year expressed his “shock” at receiving the honor on Monday.

Marci Csumrik, a passionate real estate agent and community volunteer, received the recognition at a town council meeting earlier today.

“I can’t believe it, to be honest,” she said. “I’m in a great group with the other nominees.”

Nine people were nominated for Citizen of the Year, and the judging panel narrowed the field down to three finalists: Csumrik, Pam Carter and Glenn Wagner.

Carter is “committed to enriching the lives of others,” said Gill Tillmann, judging panel member and past winner.

She noted that Carter had served nine years as president of the Mariposa Folk Foundation.

“Thanks to her expert leadership, the Mariposa Folk Festival is now a premier Canadian music event,” said Tillmann, describing Carter as “a tremendous community and cultural activist.”

Wagner is a local business owner and chair of Lighthouse’s board of directors.

His leadership role was to see the new flagship center on Queen Street come to fruition.

Selection panel member Carey Moran said Wagner had “a passion for improving the quality of life for those less fortunate in our community.”

The reasons Csumrik was chosen as Citizen of the Year include her volunteerism and generosity related to a variety of local organizations and causes, including the Orillia Youth Center, The Lighthouse, Museum of Art and history of Orillia, the Comfie Cat Shelter, the Orillia and Area Physician Recruitment and Retention Committee, Orillia Business Women’s Association and Orillia District Chamber of Commerce.

“2021 has been a banner year for Marci, and the pandemic hasn’t held her back,” Mayor Steve Clarke said.

Pandemic or no pandemic, giving back comes naturally to Csumrik.

“I am so passionate about my city. I’m passionate about people and all different organizations, especially young people,” she said. “I am honored to be able to serve youth and the arts and other volunteer positions that I maintain.”

Along with a trophy from the Joe Watt Trophies, Csumrik will receive a $250 Passport Parking App Credit and be invited to participate in the 2022 Canada Day Parade.

The late Chris Bellchambers, Angie Green-Hill, Nicole Hepinstall, Joyce Hird, Barbara MacLeod and Brian Stanton were also nominated for Citizen of the Year.